#AtoZChallenge Anonymously Yours by @itsumac

Picture Credit: Pixabay

Picture Credit: Pixabay

If you are a blogger or only just read posts by bloggers, then you are most likely aware of the mystery writers that dot the writer’s galaxy. They go by unusual, quirky, funny or even bold blog names; their pen names being a cool acronym of their blog name. These are the anonymous bloggers who shield their personal identity from the blogging world and its readers.

When I started my blog, it was purely on a whim with the first blog name that clicked right in my mind. I’d never considered writing under a pseudo name. Now, why would anyone want to be an anonymous writer/blogger?

A good four years of blogging, developing a decent reader-base, promoting the blog on social media sites and braving many a writer’s blocks later, I wonder about the what ifs. To begin with my blog-name would’ve probably been a cool “*TheLadyInBlack” or suchlike. The mystery of a secret identity can attract more readers to a blog, in my opinion.

Secondly, my posts are generally sketches from real life incidents; my ideas are sourced from interactions with family, friends, and acquaintances. So, as my reader-base began to grow to encompass people I know in real life too, it sort of put a cap over the topics I could write upon.

I am loath to the possibility of a friend or family joining the dots and end up feeling offended or embarrassed over the contents of a post. Likewise, I hesitate to bare my soul on certain sensitive or personal issues. Many a times I’ve felt that writing anonymously would have given me the freedom to fly as high I could without my relationship with the real world affecting my blogging canvas.

On a lighter note, I wonder how it would feel when people would laud me (the blog in this instance) for its contents, or if a post of mine got featured in the best post category or such like by popular blogging community sites. I might have to fight the extreme urge to exclaim to my near and dear ones, “It’s me! It’s me! I wrote this!”

Also, I’d have to give all the fun bloggers’ meet a miss, for obvious reasons. Unless the rest of the blogging community appreciates a weird blogger cloaked completely in black, refusing to lift the veil or discuss anything openly for the fear of being “found out”!

If you are an anonymous blogger, what are your reasons behind it and if not, would you consider being one and why?

*Blog-name is fictional. If such a name exists, it’s purely coincidental.

~~~~

Blogger Bio: Uma Chellappa

Uma Chellappa

Uma Chellappa

I’m your typical lady next door who tries to juggle the many aspects of her identity-that of a wife,mother, blogger, singer and a freelance content writer-with finesse and sincerity. Academically, I hold a master’s degree in commerce and a diploma in German language. I worked as a translator in the corporate sector for a while before giving it up to look after my newborn. Blogging happened four years ago as a fortunate chance and it was then I realized that writing was something I had never explored sofar but enjoyed doing. The connections and friendships I established as a blogger is something I always hold close to my heart. I write at http://mymaidenattempt.blogspot.in as the muse strikes in prose, poetry or at times fiction.

~~~

Blog-A-Rhythm’s theme for the month of April is 

Blogging Bytes

Come back everyday this month (except Sundays)

to read 26 guest posts on facets of blogging!

69 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Anonymously Yours by @itsumac

  1. Yay! B-A-R’s first post for AToZ is here!

    Glad to have come across you, Uma. As a blogger, I prefer not to stay anonymous as that makes it more personal to me. But then that is just how my mind works. Nonetheless, as a reader I enjoy both kinds. To each his own!

    Staying tuned for more Blogging Bytes.

    *Shantala @ ShanayaTales*

    Like

    • True, Shanaya, but sometimes the personal touch is what makes you wonder if it could’ve been masked under a pseudo name. Like you said, to each his own. Thanks a lot for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great start at the B-A-R. A topic I can relate to the most 🙂

    Well, I guess they say – “The grass is always greener on the other end.” for a reason. While I contemplated writing with my own name at the start I settled with the exact reasons you mentioned here to not do it. I also think about missing blog meets due to the same reason.

    I like to keep myself veiled from the world on the blog. But I can also say that as time passes, it may not be a permanent veil too. 🙂

    Like

    • So glad you could relate to this post. I never gave this aspect any thought when I started off because the blogs that influenced me to start my own were not anonymous ones. I discovered these much later and by then I was too lazy to start all over again.

      Thanks a lot for reading 🙂

      Like

  3. I went with a pseudonym so I’d be distinguished from the thousands of others who share my real name.

    Good thoughts to start off A to Z.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  4. I sometimes wish I felt being more candid in certain blog posts, but I do hold back since I am not an anonymous blogger. However, over the years I have also reached the conclusion I do not want to share every thought in my head as a blogger, and I am at peace with that. These day I mostly focus on my art and photography when it comes to blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly, I used to feel trapped for a while since I couldn’t share as candidly as I’d have liked to but slowly I made peace with the fact that every thought need not be shared out there. Thanks a lot, Sweetbearies for being here 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post Uma and glad I am here forever!
    Well, my blog’s name is a pseudo one but my identity is revealed there. So, in a way I am not an anonymous blogger. When I started my blog I had no such thoughts in mind and now I think I was too naive 😉

    Like

  6. BAR’s first AtoZ post! Yippee..!! And what a start!
    I agree with Shantala, blogging is personal to me and I do not prefer to stay anonymous! But yeah, I do have an idea to start a new blog anonymously! Just for the thrill of it 😛 Someday, maybe! Great post, Uma!!

    Like

    • Shalini, I had seriously toyed with the idea of starting a new blog under a pseudo name a few months ago, but I guess better sense prevailed. I barely write on the one I started with, imagine one more blank blog staring at me :-p

      Thanks so much for the read and encouragement 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. As I was reading your post, I wondered if I, too, should have been an anonymous blogger, but, as I continued reading about the disadvantages, I realised that things were better as they were. I would rather people know me as the blogger who churns out amazing posts!
    Wish you the best for the Challenge, Uma!

    Like

    • haha, good I changed your mind, Shilpa. I agree, I’d feel bad too if my posts got appreciated and I couldn’t preen about it 🙂

      I’m not participating in the entire challenge, Shilpa..just a cameo for BAR..hehehe..are you doing it?

      Like

  8. I am no anonymous blogger or reader but there have been times when I wondered whether I should have been one! I am not doing it now just out of laziness to do everything all over again- creating a blog, forming a reader base and everything else that comes with it. Some find it working for themselves while some believe in plainly laying their thoughts out for the world to read.

    As for me, I was just the lesser enlightened about this concept when I started a blog and so did it in whichever way came to my mind first 🙂

    Like

  9. Good start for the A-Z here at BAR! A good post, Uma on an important topic of concern to all online writers/bloggers.
    I write under my own name, but when I started my blog around 2 years ago I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t name my blog after my name 🙂 I guess I just didn’t want my name to become a URL! I realise that it can often become difficult for some potential readers to find me or my blog, but hey, I have not often done the easy thing anyway. So why change now?
    I would rather own up my views/thoughts/writings rather than leaving them under anonmymity 🙂 The fact that this makes me think several times before I write anything for public consumption/viewing is actually rewarding in its own way, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a very valid point you make, Beloo about being accountable for what we write. While I’ve read very reasonable and good anonymous blogs, the kind of other stuff I see online does make one wonder that the mask of anonymity does let one go loose with words and thoughts.

      Like

  10. Interesting thought! I guess, being anonymous has its pros and cons. I started my blog as documenting the life around me, so the thought of being anon never crossed my mind. Yes, I do hold back sometimes, since my blog is read by family and friends. Your post made me wonder about anonymous bloggers attending Bloggers Meets. Do they attend such meets??

    Like

    • Shilpa, I’m not sure whether anon bloggers attend meets. I’m guessing not since it defeats the very purpose of being anonymous. And, yes, I write about things that affect me in some way, so I never thought of not writing under my real name.

      Like

  11. Enjoyed reading your post and its nice to see the face behind the words. Being anonymous is fun but like you said, you might feel the urge to shout out ‘that’s me’, and regret not saying it. We walk a thin line when we blog about people we know, they could read our posts and react but then, who said blogging was easy 🙂 Be calm and blog…

    Like

  12. I actually never considered blogging anonymously. My blog is so much a reflection of me and hopefully it doesn’t have anything that I need to hide. I guess, to some, blogging anonymously gives them the freedom to speak without apprehension.

    Like

    • yes, but sometimes you don’t want everyone to see your reflection. It does have many shades, not necessarily bad or ugly and being anonymous gives you that freedom!

      Like

  13. Great Start 😀 I have wished many times too, that I were an anonymous blogger. It would have given me an opportunity to write so many things that I cannot write now!

    Like

  14. Great post, I enjoyed reading it. I use a pseudonym, but my identity is revealed – so, i guess yes, please to both solutions – I think they both have good and bad sides. Fortunately the passion for writing seems to be there in all cases:-)

    Like

    • There, you nail it, Eli! When you have the passion for writing, nothing else would matter. Thanks for your comment. I’m glad you enjoyed reading this 🙂

      Like

  15. I, too, thought of being anonymous as a blogger. But it just didn’t happen. I write flash fiction for my classroom at the school where I teach so remaining anonymous was not something that was likely to happen. I think if I ever complete one of my book projects, I might like that to be anonymous? Enjoyed reading your first post.

    https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/ 1432
    Alternative Aspirations of Picasso

    Like

  16. What a thought provoking post. I definitely use djinnia as my pseudonym on my blog and other sites. I do find it a bit freeing not using my real name.

    Hope you have a great A to Z!

    Like

  17. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to write under an anonymous name, maybe a little bit more of freedom, but you’re right…how would one rejoice the big and small victories that come with writing if one is doing so in anonymity. Great topic to reflect on Uma 🙂

    Like

  18. Great start to the A-Z! Really looking forward to your next posts, and what a good topic to reflect on. Anonymity tends to be portrayed negatively, so this was an excellent post!

    Like

    • Hello Kai,
      I haven’t come across negativity per se in the blogging world due to anonymity but yes, as an anonymous commenter, one comes across a lot of trolls. I think that is more because there is no responsibility involved and people feel they can get away with anything said.
      Thanks a lot for your encouragement. I’m only participating as a guest blogger for Blog-A-Rhythm in this challenge and not doing it entirely.
      Will visit your space soon!

      Like

  19. Uma, that’s such an interesting post and a great topic for a bloggers meet – if you were to blog under a pseudonym, what would it be? 🙂
    That said, I like to know more about the person behind the blog as that brings it alive for me.
    So while I can’t really relate to the anonymous blogging idea, I can totally see how much fun it can be for the blogger.

    Like

    • True, Weekend Baker (and, I love the name!)..I’ve always wondered about the face behind the words. That makes it intriguing, in a way, no? It’s nice to have some things not revealed about yourself.

      As for your question, I haven’t really thought about it. Perhaps, the lady in black? 🙂

      Thanks for being here! ❤

      Like

  20. I am an anonymous blogger and I am glad u wrote about it. But I didn’t become anonymous to escape judgements or to be able to write freely. It was a choice because I didn’t want to be known as a person but only as a blogger. I wanted me to be known by my blog. All my friends and everyone in my family knows who is RED. Yes I fight the urge to participate in contests and attend blogger meetings but its a choice I made.
    Anonymity doesn’t necessarily give u readership. Actually its the other way around. Unless your writing clicks, u won’t work since there is no face to flaunt too coz of anonymity.

    Like

    • Aah! here is one of my favourites among anon bloggers. You are a true blue-blooded blogger, Red! Blogging just for the passion of writing and nothing else. So glad you wrote your views on this. Yes, I can definitely tell from the way you write that content is what keeps readers coming back for more!

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Red! 🙂

      Like

  21. Excellent post, Uma. There are so many times when I wish I blogged anonymously, and for all those reasons you mentioned above, plus stalking! Public blogs make it so much easier for people to stalk you and harass you in so many different ways if they hold a grudge against you! I had to take two of my blogs completely off last year for this reason. Have resumed blogging quite recently (after a break of 6 months), and only after soooo much encouragement from a couple of blog buddies! I’m hoping to get over that trauma during this round of A to Z (my first attempt). By the way, I’m also writing on the same theme. So it was even more fun reading your take on ‘A’! 😀

    Like

    • Oh, sorry to hear about your experience..that really sounds scary! I’m glad you chose to tide over all the negativity and started to blog again. Thank God for blog buddies, no?
      Would love to read your take. I wish I was not so busy at this time of the year, but I promise to be at your space very soon!
      Thanks a ton for reading and commenting, Chicky!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Interesting points here. I am semi-anonymous, in that I never use my real last name or divulge my exact location. The reason for this is that I run a home-based business offline and am somewhat well-known in my community. Also, my last name is unusual, so it wouldn’t blend in with all the “Smiths” and “Jones'” out there. I prefer to keep these different aspects of me separate and would not be comfortable having clients privy to my online activities. Many of them use social media also, and yes, there is a chance they would stumble upon my picture, but at least the odds are in my favour. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s a clever idea, Debbie! And, I relate to the part about keep different aspects to our identity separate.
      Thanks for the read and comment. I’m planning to catch up with the other posts on this challenge today. Looking forward to reading yours 🙂

      Like

  23. Here I am with the 60th comment. Uma isn’t this just wonderful? I like the idea of anonymity for exactly the reason you mentioned – for being able to write more freely. For many hers I was anonymous but then it just becomes troublesome to have to mail accounts and FB accounts and I gave up. There certainly is comfort in anonymity.

    Like

    • I’m loving it, Tulika. Sadly, I’m struggling to make time for blogging with the new work that I’ve taken up. I’ve some time freed up for today and hoping to make the most of it.
      I can understand, Tulika. Especially, after you’ve established a close connect with some bloggers and they start to know you by your real name and identity, it becomes a hassle to balance it out with the ones in-the-know and rest 🙂

      Like

  24. Great topic! looking forward to your other A-to-Z posts. This is my first year to participate since I’ve only been blogging for about 6 months. I briefly considered blogging under an assumed identity, but decided not to. I think doing so appeals to everyone’s inner desire to live a secret life. In my case, I don’t think it fit with my purpose of the blog, which to share collected thoughts, wisdom, tips, etc.

    Like

    • Thank you, Shawn for the read and comment. Yes, we all have our reasons for or against revealing our true identity in the blogging world.
      Wish you all the best for the challenge!

      Liked by 1 person

  25. A great topic idea, Uma. Thanks for your thoughts on being an anonymous blogger. I’d never thought about it before. I would never contemplate the idea of writing anonymously that way. Somehow it seems so inauthentic though I know people have their reasons. My life is an open book so I can’t fathom the idea at all. Plus I enjoy getting to know other bloggers and want them to know who I am, flaws and all!

    Like

    • Interestingly, Catchats, I feel you could be an open book, even if you are writing anonymously, maybe a little more even 😉 But I get your point about wanting others to know you as you are.
      Thanks for the read and comment! 🙂

      Like

  26. Great post,uma. Both ways had its own advantages. While I miss anonymity sometimes, I enjoy the pleasures of having my name known by other bloggers, like I met with two fellow bloggers today. It is a wonderful feeling. 🙂 I really enjoyed your take on this, Uma. 🙂

    Like

Step up, Speak up, Have your say! We're all Ears :)

