Blogging Tip from the BAR: WordPress or Blogger?

2016 is here! That means we have a whole year when we can make blogging goals, more connections, strengthen the ones we have and keep fine tuning our blogging. Am I right? But first. . .

*IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT*

As promised, we have opened our doors to more members over at the Blog-A-rhythm group on Facebook! So head over there and let us know if you are keen to join us.

*Please note membership is moderated and we may take a few days to approve your request.

Blogger or WordPress

This week’s Tip:

This one’s more of a question, really, since many bloggers I know keep asking this question and it’s a loaded one, too!

Which is better? Blogger or WordPress?

Now, whether you have a blog on WordPress or Blogger or are self-hosted, it’s important to ask yourself another question: What is the purpose behind writing your blog?

I have three blogs: I run this one together with a few friends on wordpress.com. I have my parenting blog on blogger and I have my writer blog which I recently moved to its own self-hosted domain.

To put it very simply here’s the deal:

  1. Opt for blogger and blogspot.com (and its variants) if your aim is to blog mainly as a journal, write as a hobby or to write and showcase your talents in your niche.
  2. Go for a custom domain and masking blogspot.com if you want to add a professional touch to the website. Be advised that you don’t get any add-ons as such.
  3. Opt for WordPress.com if you want some variety in terms of themes, templates, widgets and layouts.  This is free much like blogspot.com
  4. Opt for self-hosted if you want to monetise your blog, get a fully professional looking website and build a unique brand image.

*Note: There are obviously many blogs/platforms out there who successfully defy everything listed above and do wonderfully, but these 4 points are largely true in the blogging space 🙂

For a very detailed and beautifully written post on the same topic , read this one by ShoutMeLoud: WordPress or Blogspot: Which is better?

Stay subscribed to our Twitter handle and

our Facebook page so you get notified of any updates as and when they occur.

If you liked this post, please do share your thoughts in the comments section as well as share this post in your social media circles 🙂

Happy Blogging!

3 thoughts on “Blogging Tip from the BAR: WordPress or Blogger?

  1. This helps – thank you. As much as I would like to switch to WordPress I have trouble figuring it out and not the time to devote to doing it. Also, I see so many people on WordPress with security issues, it scares me.

    Like

  2. I started on WordPress but it seems too complicated to me. I keep it opened but not updated. Blogger is a lot simpler and meet my needs. I have contemplated many tamest change to self host but I can’t financially.

    Like

Step up, Speak up, Have your say! We're all Ears :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.